Whether you were under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both, if you are arrested or charged with drunk driving, driving under the influence (DUI), or operating while intoxicated (OWI), you need a DUI-OWI attorney in Michigan who is as experienced as they are respected. The Cronin Law Firm's record of success and extensive knowledge of DUI and OWI laws ensure you receive top-notch representation and the best possible outcome for your case.
Penalties under Michigan’s DUI, OWI, and new “Super Drunk” laws vary by blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and age. It is a crime to have a BAC of 0.08 or greater if you are age 21 or older and 0.02 if you are younger than 21.
Note that drunk driving doesn't only apply to cars. You can be charged with driving under the influence whether you are operating a motorcycle, boat, snowmobile, moped, or a bicycle.
Typical Penalties for a First Offense
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
This is when the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is below 0.17 and carries penalties of up to a $500 fine, 93 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, 180 days license suspension, and 6 points on your driver’s license.
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI; “Super Drunk”)
This is when the BAC is above 0.17 and carries penalties of up to a $700 fine, 180 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, one year of license suspension, 6 points on your driver’s license, and mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program. Other penalties like ignition interlock can also be required. This is a device that is similar to a breathalyzer preventing a car from starting if the driver’s BAC is above the legal limit.
You Deserve a Strong Defense
Not only can a DUI or OWI charge result in harsh consequences like costly fines, jail time, or losing your license, but having a record of driving under the influence can damage your reputation and result in personal and professional repercussions for years to come.